



About Intro Background Archive Policy Groups Memorials HumanFace Map+

Word Search



[DRAFT] 'Remembering': Victims, Survivors and Commemoration

Agencies and individuals with responsibility for issues related to victims, 1997-2008

compiled by Dr Sara McDowell (2007) and Dr Martin Melaugh (2008)

Introduction

The following page contains a list of those people who were responsible for victims' issues from 1997 to 2008. Short biographies of most of the individuals listed below can be found in the section containing the CAIN Political Biographies.

Agencies and individuals with responsibility for issues related to victims, 1997 to 2008

Secretary of State for Northern Ireland

(From 8 May 2007 responsibility passed to OFMDFM)

2002 - 8 May 2007: Peter Hain

2002 - 2005: Paul Murphy

2001 - 2002: John Reid

1999 – 2001: Peter Mandelson

1997 - 1999: Marjorie (Mo) Mowlam

Northern Ireland Office (NIO)

Ministers with special responsibility for victims

(From 8 May 2007 responsibility passed to OFMDFM)

2005 - 7 May 2007: David Hanson

2004 - 2005: Angela Smith

2001 – 2004: Des Browne

1998 – 2001: Sir Adam Ingram

Office of First Minister and Deputy First Minister (OFMDFM)

First Minister

5 June 2008 – Peter Robinson (Democratic Unionist Party; DUP)

8 May 2007 – 5 June 2008: Ian Paisley (Democratic Unionist Party; DUP)

1999 – 2002: David Trimble (Ulster Unionist Party; UUP)

Deputy First Minister

8 May 2007 - Martin McGuinness (Sinn Féin; SF)

2001 – 2002: Mark Durkan (Social Democratic and Labour Party; SDLP)

1999 – 2001: Séamus Mallon (SDLP)

Junior Ministers in the OFMDFM

12 June 2012 - Jennifer McCann (Sinn Féin; SF)

16 May 2011 - Jonathan Bell (Democratic Unionist Party; DUP)

26 February 2008 – Jeffrey Donaldson (Democratic Unionist Party; DUP)

8 May 2007 - 26 February 2008: Ian Paisley Jnr. (Democratic Unionist Party; DUP)

8 May 2007 - : Gerry Kelly (Sinn Féin; SF)

1999 - 2002: Denis Haughey (SDLP)

1999 – 2002: Dermot Nesbitt (UUP)

Victims Unit

The Victims Unit was established in 2000 as a dedicated unit with the Office of the First Minister and Deputy First Minister (OFMDFM), its role was to raise awareness of, and co-ordinate activity on, issues affecting victims of 'the Troubles' across the devolved administration and throughout Northern Ireland in general. 200? – present: John Clarke, Head of the Victims Unit

Commission For Victims & Survivors / Victims Commissioners

Victims Commissioners

28 January 2008 – 2 September 2012 Four commissioners appointed; Mike Nesbitt (resigned 17 February 2010), Bertha McDougall, Patricia MacBride, and Brendan McAllister 3 September 2012 – **Kathryn Stone**

<u>Interim Victims Commissioner</u> 2005 – 2007: Bertha McDougall

<u>Victims Commissioner</u> 1997 – 2001 Sir Kenneth Bloomfield

Victims and Survivors Service

The Victims and Survivors Service was established on 2 April 2012 as a one-stop-shop for advice, assistance and guidance to victims of 'the Troubles'. (See Web site: http://www.vssni.org/)

Web Page Information

http://cain.ulst.ac.uk/victims/background/keypeople.html

Author: Dr Sara McDowell

(CAIN Research Associate, January-May 2007)

Dr Martin Melaugh (CAIN Director)

Date of first draft: 30 May 2007

Dates of modifications: 8 May 2008; 19 Aug 2008; 25 May 2012; 9 Nov 2012

Edited: Dr Martin Melaugh

PDF version: keypeople.pdf [PDF; 155KB]

about introduction background archive policy groups memorials humanface

Last modified: November 9, 2012 10:47



© 1996-2012 CAIN

W3C XHTML