cc. PS/Ministers (B&L) PS/PUS (B&L) PS/Mr Bloomfield NI Perm Secs Mr Brennan Mr Stephens Mr Buxton Mr Chesterton Mr Gilliland Mr Merifield Mr Palmer Mr Hamilton (DOE) Mr Reeve Mr Pearson Miss Owens Mr Coote Mr Sullivan Mr Bickham

Mr Carlisle

OWIL

cretary of State (B&L)

## DERRY/LONDONDERRY

1. You asked for advice on the letter of 9 May from the Town Clerk to Derry City Council which asks the Secretary of State "to instruct all Government Departments and organisations to allow their staff to use either "Derry" or "Londonderry" on official correspondence." The following advice has been agreed with DOE and PAB.

.. 2. As the attached Press clippings make clear, the Council's letter is part of the continuing hassle over the name change issue. Although the Town Clerk's letter fails to make the context clear, the Council is not referring in this instance to the name of the District Council (which is now "Derry" for all formal and informal purposes) but to the official postal address which (like the name of the City itself) is still "Londonderry" (reflecting the former County Londonderry) and which is shown as such on the Town Clerk's own letter! The real effect of the Council's proposal is therefore to invite Council staff and public servants to indicate where they stand on the name-change issue. As such its effect would be to intensify the divisive nature of this debate, and it is not quite the pluralist gesture which it might appear at first sight!

3. Our position should therefore be that government bodies will consistently use the current terminology for the both the City Council and its postal address, and the attached draft reply makes this clear.

P CARVILL Central Secretariat 16 May 1985 /JH