Mr Palmer

ELECTION IN THE IRISH REPUBLIC - THE 9 H-BLOCK CANDIDATES

On Saturday, 30 May 1981, Fr O'Duill, Chairman of the National Smash H-Block Committee announced that 9 republican prisoners from Northern Ireland would be standing in the forthcoming election on 11 June 1981.

I have listed below, information concerning the chosen 9.

(a) McDonnell, John Francis
112 Lenadoon Avenue
BELFAST.

Serving: - 14 years imprisonment for firearms and ammunition offences.

Hunger Striking from 9 May 1981.

Nominated to stand for Sligo/Leitrim. His main opponent will be Mr McSharry, Agriculture Minister.

(b) Doherty, Kieran 54 Commedagh Drive BELFAST.

Serving:- 22 years imprisonment for explosives, firearms and ammunition, and hi-jacking offences.

Hunger Striking from 22 May 1981.

Nominated to stand for Cavan/Monaghan. His main opponent will be Mr J Wilson, Education Minister.

(c) Lynch, Kevin Martin
14 Chapel Road
DUNGIVEN.

Serving:- 10 years imprisonment for firearms and ammunition, robbery and hi-jacking offences.

Hunger Striking from 23 May 1981.

Nominated to stand for Waterford.

(d) Hurson, Edward Martin 23 Cappagh Road DUNGANNON. Serving: - 20 years imprisonment for explosives offences.

Hunger Striking from 29 May 1981.

Nominated to stand for Longford/Westmeath. His main opponent will be Mr Reynolds, Communications Minister.

(e) McKenna, Sean Majella 9 O'Neill's Avenue NEWRY. Serving: - 25 years imprisonment for attempted murders.

Was on Hunger Strike from 27 October to 18 December 1980. It was McKenna who had to be transferred to Ward 18, Musgrave Park Hospital, because of the deterioration in his eye-sight and general health. As a result of his imminent death, the Hunger Strike was called off. McKenna has now made a complete recovery.

Nominated to stand for North Kerry.

\_

(f) Farrell, Mairead 25 Stewartstown Road BELFAST. Serving: - 14 years imprisonment for explosives, firearms and ammunition offences.

Was one of 3 females on Hunger Strike from 1-19 December 1980. She is regarded as the leader of the female protestors in Armagh Prison.

Nominated to stand for Cork, North Central.

(g) O'Hara, Charles Anthony
14 Ardfoyle
LONDONDERRY.

Serving: - 5 years imprisonment for robbery.

O'Hara is the brother of Patrick O'Hara, who died on Hunger Strike on 21 May 1981.

Nominated to stand for Dublin West against Brian Lenihan.

(h) McAllister, Thomas Gerard 21 Theresa Street BELFAST. Serving: - 12 years imprisonment for explosives, firearms and ammunition offences.

Nominated to stand for Clare.

(i) Agnew, Patrick Joseph 2 Cacaulian Terrace DUNDALK. Serving: - 16 years imprisonment for explosives, firearms and ammunition offences.

Nominated to stand for Louth.

In the Irish News for 30 May 1981 it was stated that:-

"In all 9 constituencies Independent Fianna Fail and Euro TD Mr Neil Blaney had put forward candidates, but he had given an undertaking that these would be withdrawn if any of the republican prisoners were nominated to stand there."

Mrs Bernadette McAliskey had originally wished to stand for Sligo/Leitrim but the National H-Block Committee decided that only prisoners should stand. Mrs McAliskey has now been promoted to publicity director. David O'Connell (PSF) is election director.

The prisoners' manifesto calls for:-

"Absolute and unequivocal support for the Maze prisoners' 5 demands. In the event of British Premier Margaret Thatcher refusing to grant the demands, that the public endorse the call for:-

- (a) the expulsion of the British Ambassador;
- (b) ending of all collaboration until the prisoners demands are met;
- (c) the withdrawal of all Irish Troops from the border".

It may (or may not) be interesting to know that in March 1957, Rory O'Brady (PSF) was elected as Sinn Fein TD for Longford/Westmeath from Mountjoy Prison; he never took his seat.

Treatment of Offenders Branch (4)

2 June 1981 © PRONI NIO/12/197A