NATIONAL ARCHIVES

IRELAND



Reference Code: Creation Date(s): Extent and medium: Creator(s): Access Conditions: Copyright: 2011/39/1819 19 June 1981 1 page Department of Foreign Affairs Open National Archives, Ireland. May only be reproduced with the written permission of the Director of the National Archives. In the General Election held on 11 June, 1981 two H-Blocks prisoners Lieran Doherty and Patrick Agnew, were elected in the Cavan-Monaghan and Louth constituencies respectively on the seventh count. Kieran Doherty is on hunger strike.

The following table lists the H-Blocks candidates in the General Election and their election results:-

	Candidates	Status	<u>Constituency</u>	FPV	Valid Poll	(a) as <u>% of (b</u>)
12/2	Prisoners			(a)	(b)	
2.	Kieran Doherty Tom McAllister Mairead Farrell	IRA/hunger-striker IRSP IRA	Cavan-Monaghan Clare Cork North	99 21 2120		· 15 4.7
5.	Anthony O'Hara Sean McKenna Martin Hurson	IRSP IRA IRA/hunger-striker	Central Dublin West Kerry North Longford/	2751 3034 3860		6.1 6.5 11.3
8.	Patrick Agnew Joseph McDonnell Kevin Lynch	IRA IRA/hunger-striker IRSP/hunger-striker	Westmeath Louth Sligo/Leitrim Waterford	4573 8368 5639 3337	45365 45763 47689 43723	10 18 12 7.6
	Others					
	Vincent Doherty Patrick Healy	Peoples Democracy	Dublin North Central Dublin North	1481	40581	3.6
			East	1063	32411	3.3
				45347	487767	9.3

Total National Vote : 1712589 H-Block FPV as % of National Vote : 2.6%

Transfers

The following gives a breakdown of the transfers to and from H-Blocks candidates:-

	<u>% of transfer votes received</u> <u>from other candidates</u>	% of H.Bk. votes transferred on elimination to other candidates
Fianna Fail Fine Gael Labour Independents SFWP SLP Community Communist	21.5 32.8 17 15.5 11.8 .4 .6 .4	53.3 25.5 10 1.2 6.8 3.2 -

tom ion da 19/6/81